Databases & Information
Click on the database name to begin your search. When asked for a login or password, enter your Scott County Library System library card barcode number.
List All | Articles: Newspapers & Magazines | Health | Books & Reading | Encyclopedias, Homework Topics, & Current Events | Business Information | Genealogy & History | More Helpful Information
Articles: Newspapers & Magazines
- College (Academic Search Elite, EBSCO.) Academic Search Elite offers full text for nearly 2,050 scholarly journals, including nearly 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. This multi-disciplinary database covers virtually every area of academic study. More than 100 journals have PDF images back to 1985.
- Elementary School (Primary Search, EBSCO.) Primary Search provides full text for more than 60 popular, magazines for elementary school research, and full text information dates as far back as 1990. Results are age-appropriate for younger readers.
- General Magazines (MasterFILE Premier, EBSCO.) This multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 2,100 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also includes nearly 650 full text reference books, 84,074 biographies, 86,135 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 107,135 photos, maps and flags.
- High School (MAS Ultra School Edition, EBSCO.) Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database provides full text for more than 650 popular general interest and current events publications with information dating as far back as 1975 for key magazines. MAS Ultra School Edition also provides more than 500 full text pamphlets, 541 full text reference books, 84,074 biographies, 86,135 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 107,135 photos, maps and flags.
- Junior High (Middle Search Plus, EBSCO.) Middle Search Plus provides full text for nearly 150 popular magazines for middle and junior high school research, and full text information dates as far back as 1990. Middle Search Plus also contains 84,074 biographies, 86,135 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 107,135 photos, maps and flags.
- Newspapers (Newspaper Source, EBSCO.) Newspaper Source provides selected full text for nearly 30 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers.
Health
- Health Source This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This database provides more than 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 additional journals in the health care fields.
Books & Reading
- eBooks Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7.
- Novelist is a reader's advisory guide to fiction. Ever wonder what to read next? Need to know the next book in a Series? What would be a good book for my 4th Grader? Here is your source.
- PrairieCat Library Catalog Look here to find out what is owned by the Scott County Library System and a wide variety of libraries from over 200 libraries near the area; renew and place holds on materials; and check your library card account.
Encyclopedias, Homework Topics, & Current Events
- Biographies Plus Illustrated Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated includes biographical coverage from a host of Wilson biographical resources, including Current Biography, the World Authors Series, and the Junior Authors & Illustrators series. In addition, Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated includes over 65,000 profiles licensed from other respected reference publishers.
- Biography Reference Center Includes biographies from American National Biography, Biographies Today, Encyclopedia Britannica and more.
- eBooks Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7.
- Encyclopedia of Animals In-depth information on a variety of topics relating to animals. The database consists of indexing, abstracts, and full text records describing the nature and habitat of familiar animals.
- GreenFILE This resource offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet. The database contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for selected titles and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles as well.
- Points of View Provides students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Contains a balance of materials from all viewpoints, including essays, leading political magazines from both sides of the aisle, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books
- Science Online Contains articles from Science encyclopedias and dictionaries, current news, biographies, and over 1100 experiments for home and school learning
- Student Research Center This database features articles from more than 2,500 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading academic publishers. Contains information from topics including literature, health, business, math, and science.
- TOPICsearch (EBSCO) This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today?s classrooms. TOPICsearch contains full text for over 92,700 articles from more than 2,500 diverse sources, including more than 1,550 full text periodicals.
- Tutor.com This database provides FREE online help from real tutors to Scott County Library System Patrons. This wonderful service is available from 4:00 PM - 9:00 PM everyday! These tutors can help with homework ranging from 4th to 12th grade along with college intro. The subjects covered by these tutors includes math, science, english, & social studies.
- U.S. Government Online Ideal for civics and social studies projects, this resource provides students with the tools they need to understand how the U.S. Government works, who the key players are, and what its role is in the everyday lives of citizens. Includes primary sources, essays, images, and videos.
- World Atlas A site that contains thousands of printable maps, profiles on all 50 states, and cultural information for every nation. Great for country and state reports!
- World Book Online Access a complete set of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for students.
Business Information
- Agriculture (AGRICOLA) The complete database from the National Agricultural Library with hundreds of full text and full image articles dating back to 1970.
- Business Magazines (Business Source Elite, Regional Business News EBSCO.) This business database provides full text for more than 1,125 scholarly business journals, including full text for nearly 500 peer-reviewed business publications. The rich collection of titles in Business Source Elite provides information dating back to 1985.
- Value Line Investment Survey Value Line publishes information which is used for timely information on stocks, mutual funds, special situations, options and convertibles.
Genealogy & History
- Ancestry Library With more than 1.5 billion names in over 4,000 databases, Ancestry Library Edition includes records from the United States Census; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more. (Note: This database can only be used at one of the Scott County Library System locations.)
- HeritageQuest A collection of research materials for tracing family history and American culture, with a collection of over 25,000 family and local histories, the entire U.S. Federal Census, a comprehensive subject index covering more than 6,500 genealogy and local history periodicals, and Revolutionary War Pension and Bounty Land Warrant Application Files, all with original page images.
- Student Research Center This database features full text for more than 2,500 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers. Also includes primary source documents from throughout history
- American Decades: Primary Sources This ebook includes full or excerpted historical primary sources from each decade of American history.
- Roots Web Search Family trees or build your own and get links to free information.
- Olive Tree A great place for beginners to learn how to research and also includes links to various sites with free information
- U.S. GenWeb Project A volunteer run site that provides websites for genealogical research in every county and every state of the United States
More Helpful Information
- Auto Repair Reference Center Auto Repair Reference Center represents the most authoritative automotive repair information available to car owners. There are thousands of year, make and model combinations covering the most popular vehicles of the past 60 years, plus additional coverage of specialty models.
- NetLibrary eBooks NetLibrary eBooks are digital full-text versions of books such as reference works, scholarly monographs, literature and fiction, and 3,400 public domain titles. Stop in at one of our Scott County Library System locations to sign up for your free NetLibrary account. Once you sign up, you can access thousands of digital ebooks from your home or office!
- Small Engine Repair Reference Center Contains instructions and diagrams to help you repair and maintain small engines in boats, ATVs, lawn mowers, tractors, and more
- Value Line Investment Survey Value Line publishes information which is used for timely information on stocks, mutual funds, special situations, options and convertibles. (Note: This database can only be used at one of the Scott County Library System locations.)